Engaging programs at the library even better with Friends

Friends of the Library are instrumental in bringing literary and cultural events to our community. They promote literacy, support engaging programs and lifelong learning, and provide for specialized materials for career development and to support local businesses.

The Friends sponsor programs for a variety of interests at our libraries and in the community. All programs are free, and we hope you get a chance to enjoy these experiences and workshops.

Programs Sponsored by the Friends

Family Museum Pass Program

The family museum pass program has been generously funded by the Friends of Spokane County Library District and the Diane E. Zahand Fund. Museum passes for Northwest Museum of Arts and Culture, Mobius Children’s Museum, and Mobius Science Center, are available to reserve online. Learn more about the program on our website.

Spokane Symphony Pass Program

The Spokane Symphony Pass program offers County Library cardholders the opportunity to attend and experience a professional orchestral performance. For select Sunday matinee performances, multiple passes are available, and each pass is for one ticket that must be exchanged at the Symphony box office. You can check availability and release dates for passes on our website.

SCORE Business Workshops

The following workshops are sponsored by the Friends of the Spokane County Library District

Marketing, Advertising, & Sales: Connections & Differences

The terms marketing, advertising, and sales usually have a different definition depending on the person or department you talk to. We give you an up-to-date explanation of each term and their tools, and we describe how the three interact and play off of each other.

SPOKANE VALLEY
Thursday, Jun 20, 12–1pm

Simple Steps for Starting Your Business

Legal, tax, insurance, and funding questions are just a few of the things one needs to consider when starting a new business. Let SCORE help you address these questions and more.

ARGONNE
Friday, Jul 19, 12–1pm

6 Marketing Must-Haves for Small Business

Learn about the marketing must-haves your small business needs for successful marketing promotions and advertising.

CHENEY
Monday, Aug 19, 12–1pm

Marketing Plans for Entrepreneurs

There are no guarantees when it comes to marketing, except that without a marketing plan, you’re probably guaranteed to fail. We take a look at how to create a modern day marketing plan that’s flexible and nimble, yet provides a solid roadmap to success for entrepreneurs and small businesses.

NORTH SPOKANE
Thursday, Sep 12, 12–1pm

Slime Time

This program is sponsored by the Diane E. Zahand Fund

Explore the world of polymers with Radical Rick. Make your own slime to take home! Supplies are provided. Registration is required. Grades 4+

MORAN PRAIRIE
Tuesday, Jun 18, 1–2pm

CHENEY
Thursday, Jun 20, 1–2pm

MEDICAL LAKE
Tuesday, Jun 25, 1–2pm

OTIS ORCHARDS
Wednesday, Jun 26, 1–2pm

ARGONNE
Monday, Jul 8, 3–4pm

DEER PARK
Wednesday, Jul 10, 1–2pm

THE LAB AT NORTH SPOKANE
Monday, Jul 15, 3–4pm

FAIRFIELD
Tuesday, Jul 16, 1–2pm

AIRWAY HEIGHTS
Wednesday, Jul 17, 2–3pm

SPOKANE VALLEY
Thursday, Jul 18, 3–4pm

Space Exploration

This program is sponsored by the Diane E. Zahand fund

Presented by Mobius Science Center Explore space with hands-on activities brought to the library by Mobius Science Center. As indicated, some programs include the planetarium for even more space discovery. Grade K–5. Kids 8 and under must bring an adult.

ARCADIA ELEMENTARY SCHOOL (DEER PARK),
1120 EAST D ST
Monday, Jun 24, 10am–12pm
(includes planetarium)

OTIS ORCHARDS ELEMENTARY (OTIS ORCHARDS),
22000 E WELLESLEY AVE
Thursday, Jun 27, 12:15–2:15pm
(includes planetarium)

NORTH SPOKANE
Wednesday, Jul 17, 2–4pm & 6–8pm
(includes planetarium)

ARGONNE
Thursday, Jul 18, 2–5pm

CHENEY
Friday, Jul 19, 2–5pm
(includes planetarium)

MEDICAL LAKE
Monday, Jul 22, 2–4pm

SPOKANE VALLEY
Tuesday, Jul 23, 2–4pm

AIRWAY HEIGHTS
Wednesday, Jul 24, 2–4pm

FAIRFIELD
Thursday, Aug 15, 1–3pm

MORAN PRAIRIE
Thursday, Aug 22, 2–5pm
(includes planetarium)

Poetry Picnic

This event is sponsored by the Friends of the Moran Prairie Library and in partnership with Scablands Lit.

Enjoy poetry from Pacific Northwest poets. All ages may attend, but please note that some poems will contain adult themes. Bring your picnic blanket or folding chair and revel in this wonderful listening experience. We’re serving gelato from Ferrante’s Marketplace Café. Adults.

MORAN PRAIRIE
ON THE GREEN BEHIND THE LIBRARY
Thursday, Jul 18, 7–8pm

Plaid Cat

This program is sponsored by the Friends of the Cheney Library

Fan favorite at Spokane-area festivals, Plaid Cat plays an original mix of vocally rich swing, country blues, doo-wop, jug band, and rock oldies. All ages.

SUTTON PARK (CHENEY), W 7TH ST
Wednesday, Jul 24, 6–8:30pm


Local Book Sales

The Friends of the Libraries hold several book sales and programs throughout the year. Please visit often to view updates:

Argonne Library

Thursday, Jun 27, 2019, 10am–3pm

Saturday (Early bird sale), Sep 28, 2019, 9–10am ($5 admission)
Saturday, Sep 28, 2019, 10am–3pm

Cheney Library

Friday, Jul 12, 2019, 9am–3pm (during Cheney Rodeo Days)
Saturday, Jul 13, 2019, 9am–1pm (during Cheney Rodeo Days)

Deer Park Library

Friday, Jun 28, 2019, 9am–4pm
Saturday, Jun 29, 2019, 9am–4pm
Sunday, Jun 30, 2019, 11am–3pm

Friday, Jul 19, 2019, 9am–4pm
Saturday, Jul 20, 2019, 9am–4pm
Sunday, Jul 21, 2019, 11am–3pm

Saturday, Jul 27, 2019, 12–3pm (during Deer Park Settlers’ Day)

Friday, Aug 16, 2019, 9am–4pm
Saturday, Aug 17, 2019, 9am–4pm
Sunday, Aug 18, 2019, 11am–3pm

Friday, Sep 13, 2019, 9am–4pm
Saturday, Sep 14, 2019, 9am–4pm
Sunday, Sep 15, 2019, 11am–3pm

Saturday, Jan 18, 2020, 9am–4pm (during Winterfest)

Fairfield Library

Saturday, Dec 7, 2019, 10am–4pm

Medical Lake Library

Friday, Oct 11, 2019, 10am–4pm
Saturday, Oct 12, 2019, 10am–3pm

Moran Prairie

Saturday, Nov 2, 2019, 9am–4pm
Sunday, Nov 3, 2019, 10am–12pm ($5 a bag of books)

North Spokane Library

Saturday, Jul 13, 2019, 10am–12pm (sidewalk sale)
Saturday, Aug 10, 2019, 10am–12pm (sidewalk sale)

Friday, Oct 11, 2019, 10am–3pm
Saturday, Oct 12, 2019, 10am–3pm

Spokane Valley Library

Friday (Pre-sale), Jan 24, 2020, 3–5pm ($10 admission)
Saturday, Jan 25, 2020, 9am–3pm

Friday (Pre-sale), Apr 24, 2020, 3–5pm ($10 admission)
Saturday, Apr 25, 2020, 9am–3pm

Friday (Pre-sale), Oct 2, 2020, 3–5pm ($10 admission)
Saturday, Oct 3, 2020, 9am–3pm


Meetings

Airway Heights Library

2nd Thursday of the month, 2pm

Deer Park Library

Friday, Oct 4, 2019, 3pm

Medical Lake Library

2nd Monday of the month, 12:30pm

North Spokane Library

Monday, Sep 16, 2019, 7pm
Monday, Oct 21, 2019, 7pm

Spokane Valley Library

4th Wednesday of the month, 12pm