Engaging programs at the library even better with Friends

Friends of the Library are instrumental in bringing literary and cultural events to our community. They promote literacy, support engaging programs and lifelong learning, and provide for specialized materials for career development and to support local businesses.

This winter and spring, the Friends are sponsoring programs for a variety of interests at our libraries and in the community. All programs are free, and we hope you get a chance to enjoy these experiences and workshops.

Programs Sponsored by the Friends

Family Museum Pass Program

The family museum pass program has been generously funded by the Friends of Spokane County Library District. Museum passes for Northwest Museum of Arts and Culture and for both Mobius Children’s Museum and Mobius Science Center are available for check out at each of our libraries. Learn more about the program in the latest issue of Engage, available online at www.scld.org/engage.

Giant Sidewalk Games

Spokane Sidewalk Games brings giant gaming fun to the library. Try your game on a checkerboard that is 10-feet wide. Show your mastery with chess pieces that are 2-feet tall. Connect four discs in a structure that is nearly 4-feet high. Let’s play! All ages

This event is sponsored by the Friends of the Spokane County Library District

Holmberg Park (North Spokane), 9615 N Wall St
Thursday, Jul 26, 2018, 6–8pm

Mix Park (Deer Park), 301 W 4th St
Saturday, Jul 28, 2018, 12–2:30pm

Cheney
Friday, Aug 10, 2018, 2–4pm

Moran Prairie
Wednesday, Aug 15, 2018. 4–6pm

Poetry Picnic

Enjoy poetry from Pacific Northwest poets. All ages may attend, but please note that some poems will contain adult themes. Bring your picnic blanket or folding chair and revel in this wonderful listening experience. We’re serving gelato from Ferrante’s Marketplace Café. Adults

This event is sponsored by the Friends of the Moran Prairie Library

Moran Prairie
Thursday, Jul 26, 2018, 7–8pm

Jim Gill: Joyous Music Play to Promote Literacy, Readiness, Math Development, & Inclusion

Jim’s latest class incorporates recent songs as well as an in-depth discussion that shows the connection between music play and school readiness, literacy development, and early math development. Get inspired to share a new repertoire of songs and playful literacy activities with the children in your care. Jim will discuss the challenges of working in early childhood development and how those challenges can also be what makes the profession so exciting. Explore the ways you can provide joyous challenges for children and how you can also keep yourself engaged and rejuvenated by watching their excitement as they learn. 3 STARS credits

This event is sponsored by the Friends of the Spokane County Library District

Moran Prairie
Friday, Aug 24, 2018, 9am–12pm

Spokane Valley
Saturday, Aug 25, 2018, 2–5pm

Jim Gill Family Concert

Sing, clap, jump, dance, and even sneeze along, as Jim Gill bangs out energetic rhythms on his banjo. Experience this joyful musical experience for kids and their adults—parents, grandparents, and caregivers—together. This concert will be filled with Jim’s award-winning recordings and stories from his books for young children. Bring a blanket for those rare times when you’re seated.
All ages

This event is sponsored by the Friends of the Spokane County Library District

Centerplace (Spokane Valley), 2426 N Discovery Pl
Saturday, Aug 25, 10–11am


Local Book Sales

The Friends of the Libraries hold several book sales and programs throughout the year. Please visit often to view updates:

Argonne Library

Saturday, Sep 29, 2018, 9–10am (early bird, $5 admission)
Saturday, Sep 29, 2018, 10am–3pm

Cheney Library

Saturday, Nov 3, 2018 9am–2pm

Deer Park Library

Friday, Jul 27, 2018, 9am–4pm
Saturday, Jul 28, 2018, 9am–4pm
Sunday, Jul 29, 2018, 11am–3pm

Friday, Aug 17, 2018, 9am–4pm
Saturday, Aug 18, 2018, 9am–4pm
Sunday, Aug 19, 2018, 11am–3pm

Friday, Sep 14, 2018, 9am–4pm
Saturday, Sep 15, 2018, 9am–4pm
Sunday, Sep 16, 2018, 11am–3pm

Fairfield Library

Saturday, Dec 1, 2018, 10am–4pm

Moran Prairie Library

Saturday, Oct 13, 2018, 10am–4pm

North Spokane Library

Saturday, Aug 11, 2018, 10am–12pm
Friday, Oct 12, 2018, 10am–3pm
Saturday, Oct 13, 2018, 10am–3pm

Otis Orchards Library

Saturday, Oct 20, 2018, 10am–2pm


Meetings

Airway Heights Library

2nd Thursday of the month, 2pm

Cheney Library

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2018, 5:30pm
Tuesday, Jan 22, 2019, 5:30pm
Tuesday, Apr 23, 2019, 5:30pm

Deer Park Library

Friday, Oct 19, 2018, 3pm

Medical Lake Library

2nd Monday of the month, 12pm (August meeting has been cancelled)

Spokane Valley Library

3rd Wednesday of the month, 12pm